Do I want to live forever?

Topic #29 by Daily Post :

Honestly, I don’t. I don’t want to live forever because that would mean that I will get to see all my loved ones die before me. And that’s not what I want. I’m actually okay with the fact that I won’t be living forever. I believe that every Life is a gift to become better human beings and rectify our mistakes. [yes, i do believe in reincarnation] This Life, to me, is an opportunity to realize or know my purpose on the Earth. To somehow play my part in making the world a better place to live in. Moreover, why would anyone want to live forever? I mean, we’d be doing the same thing for centuries and millenniums together. Wouldn’t that become a little boring? Death is like an adventure. Like, you set out to search for a treasure in a forest, but you don’t know what awaits you. That’s what Death is like for me. I still don’t know why some people fear death. Maybe, they fear the unknown. I like surprises. And I don’t like anybody ruining my surprise. Life is like a birthday party. You celebrate, and when you open up the presents, thats when you know whats inside. So, let Death be a mystery. Let us find out what happens after we die, after we die.

It’s only when we truly know and understand that we have a limited time on earth — and that we have no way of knowing when our time is up — that we will begin to live each day to the fullest, as if it was the only one we had.                                                                                                                                                                                           -Elizabeth Kubler-Ross

Let children walk with Nature, let them see the beautiful blendings and communions of death and life, their joyous inseparable unity, as taught in woods and meadows, plains and mountains and streams of our blessed star, and they will learn that death is stingless indeed, and as beautiful as life                                               -John Muir

Dream as if you’ll live forever. Live as if you’ll die today.                                                                                                                                                                                                                   -James Dean

 

12 Responses

  1. I concur!

    • haha! :D we’re in the same league! :D

  2. Though I do not subscribe to your opinion, still a worthy dimension.. liked this post..look forward to more

    • :-) thanks for taking the time to read. much appreciated :-D more coming up!

  3. You write about things that interest me …i wouldn’t want to live forever either.I want to snatch my share brutally and disappear forever(but I would want anything and everything that’s ever entitled to me,and bits and pieces of the s wretched sky)I wanna leave red dabs there…….duh!!!

    nice blog
    Alice In wonderland is my favourite

    • thanks! :D

  4. And I also
    I think those who want to live forever are whacko

    After I have sipped the whole world,there would be nothing to live for,right?….duh

    • yeah,i suppose :D

  5. Hatter, your posts are like powerful little puffs of fresh air! I’ve really missed them over the past few days (incredibly busy week, I’m still reeling a bit, but it’s all good), and it’s so nice to visit again!

    • =D I understand :D I’ve been incredibly busy too. Just saved my drafts in case I get busy again. Well, Im catching up with blogs right now :-D

  6. ….partly i agree, partly not (there’s no end in learning :)) but i like your post and especially the way you wrote it – short but straight to the chase…
    have a great day
    love/eclipse

    • :-) same here. L.O.V.E. always :)

Leave a Reply

