My Hero, My Inspiration

Like Michael Jackson, John F Kennedy, Tupac Shakur and many others, Martin Luther King Jr. is my hero. He has inspired millions of people around the world- not only Americans and Africans- but people all over the planet. Today, when I listen to his speeches on racism, love, hate and peace, it makes me feel sad. It makes me hate the world sometimes. It makes me think  “What is wrong with the world?” . It makes me think “Where is the love?” The world would be a better place if nobody hated. The world would be a better place if more people thought like him. The world would be a better place if there aren’t so many lies covering the truth. We live in challenging times. And it just isn’t a matter of who’s going to survive. Its the matter of who’s going to live. Sadly, not many people know the difference between surviving and living. I never could tell the difference between the both till a dew days ago. The moment I heard Martin Luther King Jr. say the words  “I have a dream”, I knew what I wanted from my Life. The real purpose of my Life may not be clear to me yet, but lets leave that to tomorrow. What I wanted from today, I knew. I said to myself  “I am going to live everyday. Not merely survive it”.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness. Only Light can do that.

Hate cannot drive out Hate. Only Love can do that.

-MLK JR.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

